Re-springing Your Step : Kickstart!

Part of Blogging 101 : Make A Prompt Personal

A typical day goes very sluggishly these days. I get up late, make tea. Watch the scene outside the window. Look at strays – dogs, cats, at cars, the sky, trees and birds. With breakfast done, I read a book, check my blog, check others blogs. I am in auto-pilot mode. Not thinking much. So I decide to do something about it, I get out of the house with my daughter to do a few errands, go to the grocers, go to the bank etc.

She is angelic today, hasn’t troubled me at all. It’s a bit of a walk to the bank, and my daughter insists that she will walk on her own.  She is almost two and is rapidly getting an independent streak. Not that I mind her walking but there is quite some traffic on the road and it can get difficult for pedestrians especially for the small ones. My work finishes smoothly and we are on our way home when my daughter slips, I ask her if she is hurt and we continue walking. Another two or three steps and she slips again. This time I am not sure what is wrong. So I ask her if she is tired whether I should carry her. She says yes. The moment she is up, she lays her head on my shoulders and is asleep in no time. All that walking got her tired. I did not foresee this situation.

I look at the road, trying to gauge the distance I have to cover and think I can make it. Another ten minutes and my back is starting to ache. Should I take a took took? I think but my house is hardly far. I can walk, I tell myself. Only problem is that the grocery bag starts feeling like I have loads of stones in it and I have hair in my face with no free hand to push it back. Big deal, I flick my hair. This time, there is more hair in my face. Uugghh! One more flick and it’s gone off, not bothering me anymore. Just that a few strangers looked at me as if I had some kind of a mental attack. I ignore them and keep walking. At the same time, telling myself to ignore the back pain as well. Hard isn’t it when you want to ignore pain it is all you can focus on? It’s a matter of few minutes now. I walk fast, distract myself as much as I can but my back is paining badly in addition my hand cannot handle the weight. What was I thinking? I should have taken a took took. I am in deep self-pity. Fortunately my daughter stirs. I call out her name, she lifts her head up groggily and smiles. I ask her if I can put her down and she is okay. She sways a bit but is alright and starts walking. I am finally relieved and so happy that she is always so eager to walk on her own. Little kids! they like practising their new skills.

We are home and despite all the pain, I am more awake and fresh, it’s like I have more energy. I think probably tapped some inner energy resource. Who am I kidding! I just needed to be shaken up!

2 thoughts on “Re-springing Your Step : Kickstart!

Leave a Reply

