Book Review : The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

A circus has never interested me. I have not liked movies based on the circus themes or daily soaps and ditto with books. So why did I pick up this book? Hmm, let me see, one – Goodreads gave it a very high rating, two – I had just read Belong to me and did not like it and wanted to read something better, three – it falls under the Fantasy genre. I am like a little child when I see the word magic which I now refer to as Fantasy ( a more sophisticated word) I am drawn to it. Not the young adult Twilight kind of books, no this book is not like it and I am glad.

ImageThe story is about a competition between two magicians and how they involve the circus. The story is still with me after the book is over, the scenes especially, not the characters. I think they could have been stronger but they do okay. I love the descriptions in the book. It has numerous fantastical, unbelievable things that will grip you. The Imagination is simply beautiful!

The strong characters are the ones on the sidelines, for instance the professor, the clockmaker and the contortionist. The story also has romance as a subplot. However the book has a sad undercurrent to it.

The ending really disappointed me. It was sort of predictable. I would have definitely like something meatier. It is also a little absurd, it doesn’t fit.

Overall its a very good book especially if you like fantasy novels.

3 thoughts on “Book Review : The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. adventuresinlowvision says:

    I felt the same way about the ending, not enough there. The setting was so strong, and I liked how there was a melancholy feeling to the book. Things like that allowed me to forgive the resolution.

  2. Jessie says:

    I just finished this as well. I meet with my book club to discus sit tomorrow it will be interesting to hear what they think. I also thought the scenes stuck with me more than the characters and the end was a bit.. slap dash(?) or something. Overall good but not awesome like I had been lead to believe.

Leave a Reply

