Daily Prompt: Travel

Daily Prompt: Trains, Planes, and Automobiles

You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car? (Or something else entirely — bike? Hot air balloon?)

Photographers, artists, poets: show us TRAVEL.

Making a list, charging the camera, packing the bags and setting the alarm for an early wake up. I am always charged up at the thought of travel.

Whenever I see a long distance bus loaded with passengers and their mineral water bottles and luggage I wish I am one of them, about to go for a trip.

I have done a lot of traveling in a bus. Staying up through the night, listening to music and watching outside the window. The road, the stars and the moon traveling with me. It is one of those rare times when I am awake for the sunrise, to see the sky change colours. Stretching my legs during fuel refills, having some tea and chips during the halts. Some people can sleep continuously on the bus, I think they miss all the fun.

ImageTaken on the way to Howrah Station.

As a kid I used to travel often by train with my mom. Long rides of 16 hours from Mumbai to Delhi on Rajdhani Express. It was the fastest train available on that route that time ( i think it is even now). I remember being at the Bombay Central Station (now called Mumbai central) eying the book stalls for comics. I read many namely Chaha Chaudhari, Tinkle – my favorite, Champak etc. For music I had my faithful Sony Walkman Cassette player and some extra rechargeable batteries. I could not sleep in the night during travel then as well. There wasn’t much to see outside, the windows were shaded and it used to be pitch dark save for some twinkling lights every few minutes.

Every time I travel by train I am transported back into time and I remember these journeys.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Travel

Leave a Reply

